[ page update: 2020-II-22  // 2021-VII-13,  2021-XI-13, 14; XII-08; 2023-VIII-04, X-6,12, XI-27; mjw ]

The first edition of Nomenclatura Oligochaetologica (N.O.) (Reynolds and Cook, 1976) was dedicated to the following taxonomists and systematists who set the stage for modern day Oligochaetology.

Frank Evers Beddard  (1858–1925) William Blaxland Benham  (1860–1950)
 Leo Černosvitov  (1902–1945) Luigi Cognetti de Martiis  (1878–1931)
Gustavus Augustus Eisen  (1847–1940)  Per-Olof Ljungström  (1949–1973)
Joseph Josephovich Malevič  (1904–1973) Wilhelm Michaelsen  (1860–1937)
William R. Murchie  (1920–1968) Daniele Rosa  (1857–1944)
Frank Smith  (1857–1942) John Stephenson  (1871–1933)
Franz Vejdovský  (1874–1933) * *Floruit

We dedicate this second edition of N.O., Nomenclatura Oligochaetologica – Editio Secunda, to the memory of our esteemed colleagues, mentors, and friends who have contributed significantly to our interest, knowledge, and understanding of oligochaetes and other annelids. Their collective and collaborative dedication to Oligochaetology, and willingness to share their discoveries unselfishly with the scientific and lay communities, provides us with the responsibilities of improving and expanding research they have initiated and, most importantly, teaching and advising those who have and will become oligochaetologists and other annelid specialists during our present and future generations. Names highlighted in BOLD (above and below) on this page are linked to published biographies and memoria by others, as well as those that we have compiled – many of which also include bibliographies for their publications. We hope to complete memoria and biographies for others listed on this page (names followed by an asterisk *). We welcome additional information for inclusion in these memoria – especially contact from colleagues who wish to prepare the missing memoria, and notification of published memoria for those below.